About Farro

1 grain each: einkorn, emmer and pearled spelt

Farro is wheat.

In a general sense, farro can refer to one of three kinds of ancient wheats: einkorn, emmer and spelt. However, only emmer is widely considered "true" farro.

Farro can be milled into flour for baking, it can be made into beer, and it can be cooked and eaten in a variety of dishes.

Farro is very nutritious is a great addition to almost any diet. Compared to modern grains, it has less gluten and yet more protein and studies have shown that, generally, farro is more easily digestible.

Farro has been cultivated for 12,000 years

Einkorn was domesticated for agriculture sometime around 10,000 - 12,000 years ago in the Mesopotamia region, including modern Turkey.

Emmer was very popular in ancient Egypt, and was used to make their beer.

Spelt flour is mentioned in the Bible and is specifically used in Passover celebrations to make matzah.